LP international Poland latinoamerica Iceland    Contact            Users: 224 Active, 6 Logged in - Time: 20:59

Boris Mondrus takes down Prague's record-breaking EPT National for €382,750

New to LiquidPoker? Register here for free!
Forum Index > Poker News
Defrag   Poland. Dec 14 2018 10:57. Posts 4763

The largest mid-stakes tournament in EPT Prague history came to its conclusion on Wednesday, December 12 as Israel's Boris Mondrus outlasted a 2,486-entry field in the €1,100 EPT National.

Mondrus took home the €382,750 first-place prize and a coveted trophy. He was also awarded a Platinum Pass to the PokerStars Players No-Limit Hold'em Championship.

Mondrus' road to the victory led through a crafty work through the provisional standings. He started the final day in fourth place among the six remaining runners, but he needed less than two hours to establish himself at the top of the chip counts.

Mondrus never relinquished his lead and he was allowed to hoist the trophy after eliminating Czech player Ondrej Lon who pocketed €204,200 for his runner-up finish.

Ali Al Saidy finished in third place for a €138,400 payday while the start-of-day chip leader Danilo Velasevic departed in fourth, taking €106,600. Italian pro Walter Treccarichi busted in fifth for €89,000 and Ut Tam Vo picked up the €71,800 sixth-prize.

The EPT National drew the largest turnout in the tournament's history with 2,486 entries. The top 373 finishers shared the €2,411,420 prize pool. Full coverage from the event can be found on

€1,100 EPT National results:
1st - Boris Mondrus, Israel, €382,750
2nd - Ondrej Lon, Czech Republic, €204,200
3rd - Ali Al Saidy, Norway, €138,400
4th - Danilo Velasevic, Serbia, €106,600
5th - Walter Treccarichi, Italy, €89,000
6th - Ut Tam Vo, France, €71,800

History of Eureka/National Championship events in Prague:
2011: 329 players, €231,290 prize pool, Keith Johnson for €58,400
2012: 652 players, €632,440 prize pool, Menikos Panagiotou for €137,100
2013: 1,315 players, €1,275,550 prize pool, Dimitri Holdeew for €226,400
2014: 1,738 players, €1,685,860 prize pool, Balazs Botond for €206,948
2015: 1,893 players, €1,836,210 prize pool, Javier Rojas Mederos for €311,000
2016: 2,031 entries, €1,970,070 prize pool, Hubert Matuszewski for €193,298
2017: 2,117 entries, €2,053,490 prize poool, Georgios Vrakas for €338 000
2018: 2,486 entries, €2,411,420 prize pool, Boris Mondrus for €382,750
*note: freezeout format in 2011-16, single entry per flight allowed from 2017

Facebook Twitter


Poker Streams

Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved
Contact Advertise Sitemap